Print this page


Bannockburn Fire Brigade Awards Night

Recently we were able to honour some of the members of the fire brigade for their long and diligent service to the community.

We had a great afternoon at the Bannockburn Bowls Club where we enjoyed a social game of bowls, ably tutored by very patient Bowls Club members. Some of us are better at bowling out canvas hoses than scoring points on the green however but we all had a fun filled, relaxing afternoon prior to a wonderful meal provided by the Bowls Club members.

At the conclusion of our meal the District 7 Operations Manager, Mr Mick McGuinnes presented awards to a number of our members.

Firstly a posthumous award to Mr Ron Moreillon - a third clasp to his National Medal which he received in 1989. Ron had been a member of the Bannockburn Fire Birgade and the CFA since before 1945 and had held a number of positions in the brigade, but most significantly that of Communications Officer for the brigade, the Anakie Group and Region 7.

Ron's wife Joan was also an important part of the team and joined the brigade as an operational member in 1973 accumulating 44 years service before steping down from active duty. Joan was also awarded the National Medal in 1989 and at our function this year received the 1st & 2nd clasps for her medal, representing 15 years of continued diligent service for each of the clasps.

Gavin Adamson, Glenn Morrison and Neil Kennedy also received National Medals for their long service to the community, Gavin having served for 35 years, Glenn 36 years and Neil for over 60 years. All received clasps according to their length of service.

The National Medal was instituted by letters patent granted by Her Majesty Elizabeth the Second, Queen of Australia on the 14th February 1975.

Its purpose is to enable Her Majesty to honour those who have served in the Australian Police forces, Australian Fire Services, Protective Service, Australian Correctional Services, Australian Emergency Services and other approved Voluntary Organisations

Glenn Morrison, Neil Kennedy and Gavin Adamson